18/09/2011 4:00 pm
Byron Bay based folk/indie pop four piece The Lucky Wonders have made a huge entrance onto the Australian music scene in the short time since they formed, with a trail of rave reviews left in the wake of their album Thirteen O’Clock, and mammoth touring efforts. Songwriters Emma Royle and WAMI Award winner Jessie Vintila first came together to create live music for puppet show Puppets Break Out, playing an 11 show season in the 2009 Adelaide Fringe Festival. The collaboration was such a success they were inspired to pursue it head-on, and formed the core of The Lucky Wonders.

Within a few months the duo had enlisted the help of ARIA nominee Anthony Lycenko (Pete Murray, Xavier Rudd, The Beautiful Girls), Ben Franz (The Waifs, Tim Rogers) on bass and lap steel, and Dave Sanders (Rodriguez) on drums.  Co-producing with Lycenko at Byron Bay’s Rocking Horse and 301, they created the twelve tracks compiling Thirteen O’Clock, which was to meet overwhelming critical acclaim.

“Top 10 albums and Top 3 gigs of 2010” – Sue Barrett – Rhythms

“…a stunning debut album with tracks ranging right across the broad roots genre.…a winning package. FOUR STARS” BMA

“…uplifting and life affirming…” andpluckyourstrings

“…relaxing and warm…” Scene Magazine